February 7, 2016

Jusepe de Ribera, Moses, Museo Nazionale di San Martino, Naples, 1638

Moses came down from Mount Sinai. As he came down from the mountain with the two tablets of the covenant in his hand, Moses did not know that the skin of his face shone because he had been talking with God [NRSV, Exodus 34:29].

Christ Church Cathedral Choir Notes  
Transfiguration Sunday

Click to go immediately to:

1) The Music Calendar for Choral Eucharist, Eucharistie chantée and Evensong

2) The Concert Calendar

McGill University Noon-Hour Organ Recital Series
Fridays at 12:30 pm
February 5: Hans-Ola Ericsson  programme

On Friday, February 12, at 12:30, as part of the McGill University Noon-Hour Organ Recital Series, the Assistant Organist at Christ Church Cathedral, Adrian Foster, will perform along with Kimberley Lynch, soprano, in a joint recital.  Click here for the programme. Featured will be original compositions by Adrian and by Jason Noble, member of the Cathedral Singers.

The prelude for the 12h45 Eucharistie chantée this coming Sunday is Johannes Brahms, No. 5 of his Eleven Chorale Preludes, Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele.

The Eleven Chorale Preludes, Op. 122, are a collection of chorale preludes for organ by Johannes Brahms, composed in 1896, and published posthumously in 1902.  The eleven pieces are relatively short and are based on selected verses of nine separate Lutheran chorales.

Brahms’ Eleven Chorale Preludes performed by Bernard Lagacé, on the 1977 Helmuth Wolff organ at the Eighth Church of Christ, Scientist, New York City. [YouTube]

The complete organ works of Johannes Brahms, performed by Karol Golebiowski at the organ of the Heliga Trefaldighets Kyrka, Kristianstadt [musicMe]:  

Chorale Prelude and Fugue on "O Traurigkeit, O Herzeleid"
Fugue in A-flat minor
Prelude and Fugue in A minor
Prelude and Fugue in G minor
Eleven Chorale Preludes (1896):
 Mein Jesu, der du mich
 Herzliebster Jesu, was hast du verbrochen
 O Welt, ich muss dich lassen
 Herzlich tut mich erfreuen
 Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele
 O wie selig seid ihr doch, ihr Frommen
 O Gott, du frommer Gott
 Es ist ein Ros' entsprungen
 Herzlich tut mich verlangen
 Herzlich tut mich verlangen (second version)
 O Welt, ich muss dich lassen (second version)

The complete organ works of Johannes Brahms performed by Robert Parkins at the 1976 Flentrop organ of Duke Chapel, Duke University, Durham, are available for  free online listening through the Naxos Music Library.  Check with your librarian.  [BNQ; BM] (info)

Read what Robert Parkins writes about the organ works of Johannes Brahms.

Olivier Messiaen, Majesté du Christ demandant sa gloire a son Père, the 1st movement of L'Ascension, is the prelude this coming Sunday for Choral Evensong.               

Garofalo, The Ascension of Christ, Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica, Rome, 1510-20

Olivier Latry performs
L'Ascension / The Ascension

1) Majesté du Christ demandant sa gloire a son Père  (Majesty of Christ Praying that His Father should glorify Him) [YouTube]

2) Alléluias sereins d'une ame qui désire le ciel  (Serene Alleluias from a Soul Longing for Heaven) [YouTube]

3) Transports de joie d'une ame devant la gloire du Christ qui est la sienne  (Transports of Joy from a Soul before the Glory of Christ which is its Own Glory) [YouTube]

4) Prière du Christ montant vers son Père (Prayer of Christ Ascending towards His Father) [YouTube]


Olivier Messiaen, Les Méditations sur le mystère de la Sainte Trinité, No. VI, is the postlude for Choral Evensong this coming Sunday.

Olivier Messiaen, Méditations sur le mystère de Sainte-Trinité / Meditations on the Mystery of the Holy Trinity:
1) Le Père Inengendré: The Father Unengendered ("The Father of the Stars")
2) La Sainteté de Jésus Christ: The Holiness of Jesus Christ
3) La relation réelle en Dieu est réellement identique à l’essence: The True Relation to God is Actually Identical to the Essence
4) Je suis, Je suis !: I Am, I Am!
5) Dieu est immense, Éternel, Immuable. Le souffle de l’Esprit – Dieu est Amour: God is Immense, Eternal, Immovable - The Breath of the Spirit - God is Love
7) Le Père et le Fils aiment par le Saint-Esprit eux mêmes et nous: The Father and the Son Love, Through the Holy Spirit, Themselves and Us
8) Dieu est simple: God is simple
9)  Je suis Celui qui suis: I Am Who I Am

Click here to go to a performance by Charles Thompson at the 1927 E.M. Skinner / 1963 Aeolian-Skinner organs of the Cathedral of Saint Paul in St. Paul, Minnesota.

Performance of Thomas Daniel Schlee at the Cavaillé-Coll organ of l'Église de la Sainte-Trinité, Paris [musicMe]


Charles Tournemire, L'orgue mystique: Easter Cycle, Op. 56: No. 14

Mass of Quinquagesima

Prelude for the Introit [YouTube]
Offertory  [YouTube]
Elevation [YouTube]
Communion [YouTube]
Stained Glass Window [YouTube]

Click for the entire performance of L'Orgue mystique by Georges Delvallée.

Click to go to Bach Cantatas for Online Listening.

Unknown Catalan Master, Christ and the Twelve, Barcelona, c. 1100

Johann Sebastian Bach, Cantatas for Quinquagesima Sunday (Estomihi) in the traditional Lutheran Church Year:

Transfiguration Sunday: Johann Sebastian Bach did not compose a cantata for the Transfiguration but Cantata 22 makes allusion to Mt. Tabor and the Transfiguration.

Performance of Cantata 127 conducted by John Eliot Gardiner, Gustav Leonhardt and Pieter Jan Leusink. [text/listen]

Performance of Cantata 159 conducted by John Eliot Gardiner, Gustav Leonhardt and Pieter Jan Leusink. [text/listen]